Two SMU Students Receive Jonas Scholars Program Scholarships

Samuel Merritt University has received two $20,000 scholarships for nursing doctoral students from the Jonas Scholars Program. SMU faculty received notification of the institutional award in January 2014 and selected the student scholars in March 2014.

The two scholars that have been selected to receive the scholarships are Kathleen Hilton for the Jonas Nurse Leaders Program and Hamerling Santos for the Jonas Veterans Healthcare Program. The Jonas Nurse Leaders Scholar Program was created in 2008 to support educational development of new nursing faculty and stimulate models for joint faculty appointments between schools of nursing and clinical affiliates. The Jonas Veterans Healthcare Program supports scholarships for 54 nurses to be trained at the doctoral level (PhD and DNP) on veteran-specific healthcare needs, ranging from clinical to policy to administration to education.

Both Hilton and Santos are Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP)/Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) students. Hilton is expected to complete the program in the fall of 2015, Santos is expected to complete the program in fall 2016.

"The DNP program and faculty are proud to have Hamerling Santos and Kathleen Hilton represent Samuel Merritt University in the Jonas Scholars Program," said Michelle DeCoux Hampton, Associate Professor and Interim Doctor of Nursing Practice Program Director. "They will join an elite group of doctoral nursing students throughout the United States who are preparing to take on leadership roles in practice and academia."

pictured: Kathleen Hilton (left), Hamerling Santos (right)

Request more information

Vestibulum id ligula porta felis euismod semper. Nullam id dolor id nibh ultricies vehicula ut id elit. Sed posuere consectetur est at lobortis. Donec sed odio dui.