The University recognizes certain days during the year as paid holidays for its staff. All eligible employees receive eleven holidays, including the following:

  • New Year's Day
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day
  • President's Day
  • Memorial Day
  • Fourth of July
  • Labor Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Friday after Thanksgiving
  • Christmas Day
  • 2 Floating Holidays (pro-rated based on date of hire)

The University is closed the week between Christmas and New Year's Day. Faculty on nine and ten and 12 month contracts are not eligible for holiday pay, per se, as holidays are incorporated into the academic calendar. Faculty with 12 month contracts are eligible for holidays, as noted previously, with the exception of President's Day which, depending upon the academic calendar, may be a workday.

(See SMU Policy HR-002)

Request more information

Vestibulum id ligula porta felis euismod semper. Nullam id dolor id nibh ultricies vehicula ut id elit. Sed posuere consectetur est at lobortis. Donec sed odio dui.