Dr. Cornelius Hopper Diversity Excellence Award Announced

The SMU University Diversity Action Council (UDAC) and the Office of the President are pleased to introduce the Dr. Cornelius Hopper Diversity Excellence Award. The award has been established to recognize members of the Samuel Merritt University community who significantly contribute to advancing the University’s commitment to “institutionalizing a more diverse, equitable, and inclusive culture."

Nominations will be accepted throughout the year, with a closing date of October 15, 2013. 

An individual awardee will receive $1,000, a team will receive $2,000, and a division or program will receive $3,000. Additionally, each awardee(s) will have their name(s) inscribed on a plaque that will be prominently displayed in the Office of the President.

Nominees will be announced at the annual Inclusion Explosion Celebration in November 2013 and presented at the annual President’s Dinner in December 2013.

Click here for more information about the selection criteria and nomination process.

pictured: Dr. Cornelius Hopper at the 2013 SMU Black History Month celebration



Request more information

Vestibulum id ligula porta felis euismod semper. Nullam id dolor id nibh ultricies vehicula ut id elit. Sed posuere consectetur est at lobortis. Donec sed odio dui.