Chapter Excellence Awards

alt=" "

Nu Xi At Large Chapter gives awards each biennium or every two years to outstanding nurses who have made particular contributions to nursing and to Sigma Theta Tau. In keeping with the aims and goals of Sigma Theta Tau International, awards are given to acknowledge outstanding clinical practice, research, leadership, and education. Nominations are made by chapter members from the current chapter membership list. Each nomination should contain the following elements.

  1. The contribution by the nominee related to the selected category
  2. Describe the impact or significance of the contribution
  3. Describe why you believe the nominee should receive this award
  4. Current address and telephone number(s) of nominee

Lifetime Achievement Awards: Recognizes the contributions of the rare individual who has been a member of Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Honor Society and who has provided sustained and outstanding service at the chapter, regional, and international levels over a period of 20 or more years. The person receiving this award will have maintained active membership for twenty or more years in the Society and will have served numerous leadership positions in at least two of the various organizational levels of the society: chapter, regional and international.

Nursing Practice Award: Demonstrates breadth of knowledge and expertise in area of specialty. Advances the scope and image of practice. Is creative in approach to practice particularly in contributions to quality care.

Research Award: Conducts distinguished research and communicates the findings. Displays evidence of a history of research activities and writes scholarly works related to theory and/or research. Mentors others in the research process.

Leadership Award: Receives recognition (local, regional, and/or international) as a leader in education, practice, administration, and/or research. Influences leadership through visionary approaches and creates an environment that enhances the image on nursing/nurses. Mentors others in nursing leadership.

Education Award: Known as an excellent teacher who influences professional practice and the public's image of nursing through excellence in teaching. Influences scholarly development in nursing education, practice, and/or research through teaching. Promotes a theory/research base for nursing curricula and nursing practice.

Philanthropy Award: Recognizes the contributions of members who have made sustained contributions to the community as manifested by donation of money, resources, property or service to needy persons or to institutions advancing human welfare. The person receiving this award will have been a major donor, benefactor, or volunteer to community organizations, including Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Honor Society and Nu Xi At Large Chapter, for the purpose of benefiting the general welfare of society.

Diana Dunn Service Award: Recognizes the contributions of members who have performed sustained and outstanding service to Nu Xi At Large Chapter.

Friend of Nursing Award:  Is conferred by local chapters and recognizes an individual or organization that is not eligible for regular membership but has impacted the chapter, the local nursing or health care community, and/or the health of people in a significant way. Criteria: Nominees must:

  • Demonstrate a commitment to the ideals and purposes of STTI.
  • Demonstrate superior achievement and leadership in their field of work.
  • Contribute to the long-term significance of the chapter, the nursing profession, and/or to the health of people within a local or regional area.

Annual Awards Deadline

The deadline for applications is November 15, 2018. Awards are given to honorees at a special event each biennium. Please use the application form that follows and send it with your letter of nomination to the Chair of the Awards Committee at the address below. Please feel free to call if you have any questions:

Abby M. Heydman        Email:

Award Nomination Form

Request more information

Vestibulum id ligula porta felis euismod semper. Nullam id dolor id nibh ultricies vehicula ut id elit. Sed posuere consectetur est at lobortis. Donec sed odio dui.